Student teachers have a valuable contribution to make in realizing the vision of the Institution. A student council provides an opportunity for students to engage in a structured partnership with principal, teachers and college administrators in the educational process of the institution.. This can result in strengthening their bond and belongingness towards the Institution. The establishment of a student council gives students an opportunity to acquire the sort of communication, planning and organizational skills which will be beneficial to them in their future lives. It enables students to take responsibility for events, and to demonstrate that they can manage and make such events successfully.


The major objectives of establishing  student council in the Institution are as follows:


  • To represent the student body in all matters pertaining to the betterment of the college.
  • To foster communication among students, administrators, staff, and the community.
  • To promote, organize and execute events that encourage student pride and college spirit.
  • To instill democratic ideals by providing an outlet for student expression,
  • To provide a forum for aiding in the solution of college problems.


Formation of Student Council:

The student representatives are elected by students  using secret ballot a system of voting by following all the necessary steps. The Institution ensures transperancy in the voting by conducting it openly in an democratic environment  right from nominations, canvassing till the counting of the votes. For 100 students  six students are elected and 4 students are selected on the basis of their academic reconrd, sports certificates and the cultural activities. Thus the norms given by the University of Mumbai are followed strictly in forming the council.

Every year the council members are selected for the various positions like General Secretary, Cultural Secretary, Cultural Incharge, Assembly Incharge, Sports Secretary, Sports Incharge and Women Representative.

Constitution of student Council for 2018-2019:




Name of the members

1.  President                     : Dr. Savita Manchekar
2. Teacher In charge    : Mrs. Soma Guha,

Mrs. Swati Sharma

3. General Secretary    : Ms. Saloni Shah
4. Treasurer               : Mr. Iqbal Mulla,

Ms. Steffi Leitao

5. Assembly In charge : Ms. Hemali Rana,

Ms. Melicia Ferreira

6. Cultural Secretary    : Ms. Rosaline Shetty
7. Cultural In Charge   : Ms. Mamta Pandey,

Ms. Saldana Renita

8. Sports Secretary       : Ms. Ashwitha Rao
9. Sports In Charge      : Ms. Deepali Shrivastava,

Ms. Krishna Sarda

10. Women Cell Secretary: Ms. Jennie D’Souza
11. Women Cell In Charge: Ms. Prajapati Surekha


The activities which are conducted under the student council department are as follows:

  • Inauguration
  • Theme based assembly
  • Celebrations of Festivals
  • Celebration of Important days
  • Cultural Fest
  • Sports Day
  • Farewell
  • Annual Prize Distribution, etc.

Apart from these activities which are assigned to the council as an integral part, the student council also represent the entire group of students in terms of being a liason between them and the authority of the Institution. Students can convey their problems and issues to the principal via the the student representatives  and in-charge professors.